Volunteering By Reading Text Books For Blind, Dyslexic and Disabled Folks

Posted on June 30, 2008. Filed under: -- On MY Calendar, -- Uncategorized, -- Volunteering, -- What MOLLY's Up To | Tags: , , , |


By Molly Greaves

I love volunteering. I just got back from 3 hours of reading at the RFB&D where I enjoy spending some of my energy reading textbooks for blind students (today I learned how to direct readers and ran the recording technology).  Disabled folks can use our service too, including folks that cant turn the pages because of arthritis for example. Some students have been recently blinded and some were born blind. Either way, it’s very rewarding because of the impact on others. I’m going to join the Ambassador committee soon, so I thought I’d start by sharing some interesting facts with you about the program.

Where I volunteer, we serve Texas, Arkansas and Oklahoma. Pretty fun territory for a gal from Vermont to think about. Wonder what listeners think of my accent?

* In Texas alone, we have over 16,000 borrowers that have benefit from our services.  Nationally, Recording For The Blind & Dyslexic provides over 185,000 people with print disabilities the books they need to learn and succeed. 

* Currently over 700 Texas schools and districts are members of our service.

* Borrowers range from kindergarten-graduate students and continuing education. We have even helped a blind woman graduate successfully from acupuncture school!

*  We have a studio that has 7 recording booths. Everyone gets to direct!

* Johns Hopkins University evaluated the effectiveness of RFB & D’s (reading for blind and dyslexic) recorded textbooks, and found a 38% increase in content acquisition reading scores.

* Their goal (and mine too, which is why I volunteer here) is for all people to have access to the printed world. 

http://www.rfbd.org

And if you’re in Texas, they’re just right up the street off of Lamar and 45th!

4 Responses to “Volunteering By Reading Text Books For Blind, Dyslexic and Disabled Folks”

RSS Feed for Because When It Comes To Planning The Future, Being Well-Informed Is Always The Smartest Path… Comments RSS Feed

What center is near 19010 to volunteer to read for the blind?

I’m very interested in becoming a reader for the blind and/or disabled. I’m a retired RN who wants to volunteer to read for those who are no longer to.

I would like to volunteer to read books for the blind. I was told about this by a friend who does this. How do I proceed to apply?

I would like to read books to the vision imparied


Comments are closed.

  • Blog Stats

    • 274,892 hits
  • I'm glad you found my blog. I hope you enjoy it!

  • Flickr Photos

    100_0197

    100_0198

    100_0200

    100_0201

    100_0202

    100_0203

    100_0204

    100_0205

    More Photos
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • June 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

