Montpelier, Vermont: The State Capital You Could Never Remember

Posted on July 6, 2008. Filed under: -- What MOLLY's Up To | Tags: , , , , |


 

By Molly Greaves

Here I am in Vermont! Good Ol’ Vermont. State population just about 600,000.

Born and raised in Vermont, I sometimes make it back to see the ‘rents. I don’t go as often as I should, because I usually try to visit places I haven’t been before since I lived in Vermont 18 YEARS!  I’ve been away for 8 years and I especially have a hard time going back up there when it’s cold, that’s for sure.  Luckily some of them come to me.

In this picture, I’m there in the winter. In this picture I’m in Montpelier to be exact; Vermont’s good ol’ state capital. I’m sure you remember Montpelier now that I mention it is the state capital, as I’m sure  it was a pain in the butt for you to remember it when doing states and capitals in elementary school. Cheyenne (Wyoming) always seemed to give me problems as a young buck. 

Anyhow, I love to visit state capitals and usually hit Vermont’s up when I’m home. Montpelier is the only state capital without a McDonalds! Ha. True Montpelier is a smaller sized “city” but I believe it’s just another example of how Vermonters don’t really like Corporate America.

The day of my visit was a nice day, and I was wearing my favorite scarf. I’ve since lost the thing with my moving down to Texas. I’m okay with it only because I have to be because I could certainly find times in Austin where I could wear it. It was so cute… green with white polka dots.  Lucky for me though, Austin’s warm and has over 300 sunny days a year so I haven’t needed it yet.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

