Reaching Out To Your Alumni Can Be Fun and Strategic—Even If You Are 50 Years Younger Than They Are!

Posted on July 6, 2008. Filed under: -- Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , |


 I’m extremely proud of the education I received from Duquesne University, and really appreciate the Leadership & Change Management degree I earned from their business school. So much in fact, that I recently started reaching out to fellow Duquesne business school grads to network with them, to let them know I’m here to help them if I ever can, and also to learn about  how they’ve put their education to use. It’s amazing what people have done.

As I had thought, this has been a great group of people to network with because right out of the gate, I knew that we had a common set of values we shared and could talk about. Important values Duquesne instills in it’s graduates including integrity, ethics, and leadership; characteristics I look for with those that I like to surround myself with. Plus, if they graduated from the business school, it’s also likely they probably enjoy chatting about business too.

I have had great encounters via email with many caring Duquesne grads. I even recently met with someone face-face  from Duquesne’s Leadership and Advancement Department when she was down in Austin last month. We had a great time…and got to hang out for almost 6 hours! It was really nice to show someone from Pittsburgh around Austin. I’m also now planning to attend a holiday cocktail party in November with a bunch of alum that are flying into Austin to catch up on the lake. Recently, someone that graduated more than 50 years before I did said he would talk about his business experience on a podcast I’m going to launch soon. What a great conversation we had, and I cant wait to talk with him again to learn more. He was a very funny man, and I’m so happy to have Duquesne in common with him.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

