How to Place a Fraud Alert if You Think Your ID Has Been Stolen

Posted on July 7, 2008. Filed under: . More Resources For YOU! | Tags: , , , , |


By Molly Greaves

Lucky for you, I’ve already gone through this process. Yes, my identity was stolen.  By a college buddy, in fact! I went to a smaller, private Catholic school, and my “good friend,” of three years made me her victim. Her name was/is Kate Heiple from Lexington, KY. 

I was wondering why in the heck my money was gone and my cards were maxed. I always kept a budget and knew what I was spending my hard-earned money on. That’s what made me alert. I then found out my money was indeed gone and that everything I’d ever earned went toward her shopping, partying, and hell raising while I was on Christmas vacation at home with my family in Vermont. She even went on a trip to NY courtesy of me. How lovely. 

 

All you need to do is put a FRAUD ALERT with one credit bureau, and they will send the alert to the other two. 

Fraud Division Contact Numbers:

TransUnion:800-680-7289

Experian: 888-397-3742

Equifax: 800-525-6285

This process will also inform anyone who takes a look at your credit report that there may be a fraud problem and help better explain your low score.  Also, make sure you contact all of the companies where you’re an account holder to alert them or make any necessary changes you have.

2 Responses to “How to Place a Fraud Alert if You Think Your ID Has Been Stolen”

RSS Feed for Because When It Comes To Planning The Future, Being Well-Informed Is Always The Smartest Path… Comments RSS Feed

I like your blog! Thanks!

Hi – I found your oage by mistake. I was looking in Google for PDF software that I had already purchased when I found your site, I must say your website is really cool I just love the theme, its amazing!. I don’t have the time this minute to totally read your site but I have bookmarked it and also signed up for your RSS feed. I will be back in a day or two. Thanks again for a nice site.


Comments are closed.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

