ANOTHER Reason I Love Central Texas! The Guadalupe and River and Camping…check out the pictures!

Posted on July 21, 2008. Filed under: -- Austin Related, -- Uncategorized, -- What MOLLY's Up To | Tags: , , |


By Molly Malone

What a great weekend! My friend Amy turned 27 last week, and we celebrated by camping on the Guadalupe, just a tad south of Austin. We then floated the river Saturday day, doing the 5 hour float, which is pretty much like floating down a LAZY RIVER, except for 5 hours, with alcohol and without many children.

The weekend was full of a lot of laughs, Miller High Life and Mojito’s, and most importantly, BIRTHDAY SPUNK….we even sang “Happy Birthday” to Amy about 7 times on the river. Fun times.

And boy-oh- boy did I get one WICKED sunburn!!!  Yikes.  I’ve got this gosh-awful uneven tan from being in and out of the water and on and off a tube! My knees are like a fire hydrant, and I even used SPF 50! I have been using the aloe vera so much that I can almost feel Neutrogena’s stock increase in value with each squeeze I take.

Oh, and just so you know, this wasn’t a vacation.  Instead, thanks to the Trump Institute, I was on a business trip.  Yep. Real Estate. I was checking out real estate, no joke.

This is one of many camp sites around the area. All of them are awesome, and most are right on the water.

This shot is from a bridge we crossed while on our way to start floating like these folks! We took an old school bus to get there, which the tubing company drops you off and picks you up with…Nothing like riding the bus. The bus driver blasted songs involving “rivers” on our drives.  He especially loved the songs that also praised Texas, like most Texans seem to.

To the left are some passersby floating by our campsite. The other picture is just a snapshot of the water color captured 

 

 

 We were able to get a spot right on the water for our campsite; it was perfect.

My friends Amy and Garrett setting up their tents. We forgot to do this before the sun went down.

6 Responses to “ANOTHER Reason I Love Central Texas! The Guadalupe and River and Camping…check out the pictures!”

RSS Feed for Because When It Comes To Planning The Future, Being Well-Informed Is Always The Smartest Path… Comments RSS Feed

Nice post! Thanks for the info… Have a nice day!

Where exactly did you camp? Do you recommend it?

How did you find the campsite? Did you get there earlier before floating?

Hi
I wonder if you could tell me how to request permission to use one of the photos on your site (Guadalupe)? It would be used in a non-commercial video/poem.

Thanks much,
R Norris
Kerrville, TX

Hi,
I am working on a non-commercial video/poem about the Guadalupe River for a friend.

I would like to request permission to use one of your photos (the shot of the river from a bridge located on your site 5minuteswithmolly.wordpress.com)

Thanks for your consideration.
R Norris
Kerrville, TX


Comments are closed.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

