Today’s City Hall Meeting: My Topic 1 of 3–Beautify Our Bridges

Posted on July 24, 2008. Filed under: -- Uncategorized | Tags: , |


By  Molly Malone

I just got back from speaking at City Hall. I was actually quite nervous because I hate the way my voice sounds in a microphone. Do you know what I mean? I feel like I sound like an idiot. My friend Molly in Cleveland says she too hates it. She says she sounds like a 10 year old boy. Hahah. She has a nice voice so I doubt it, but it’s funny the way we perceive things sometimes.  

I think things went well today..or as well as they could have. The meeting was in front of the City Council, which includes Austin’s hip mayor Will Wynn, our City Manager, Marc Ott, and a bunch of other important folks elelected into office. The news films the event and so doesn’t the regular local public access channel. I bet my voice sounds even worse after it is projected through the mic and on to TV! Haha.

Here are the three things I talked about:

Painting the bridges:

I received my Leadership & Mgmt degree from Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, PA. Ya’ll may know that as the STEEL CITY, but I know it as the CITY OF BRIDGES.

Almost all bridges in Pittsburgh were unique with their own characteristics, and I always enjoyed looking at their design and details. I wish I could do the same here in Austin.

We’ve got a beautiful landscape in Austin with beautiful architecture AND things only seem to get nicer as construction continues–EXCEPT our bridges.

I’d like to propose doing something about it, or at the very least, doing something about the run down RR track bridge that you pass on your left-hand side when traveling south on Lamar before crossing the lake. 

All of that graffiti is an eye sore, and is inconsitent with Austin…we are WAY too creative for that.

I propose corporate sponsorship and/or having a city-wide art competition for LOCAL artists, where they have the ability to showcase their talent while competing is an “Austin-themed” mural contest, or something of the like.

I believe it could work well with the Art in Public Places initative the city has recently implemented. 

Ya’ll know we love art and murals in Austin.  Just thinking about the HI HOW ARE YOU frog on campus brings a big smile to your face.  (I could see the smile in their eyes too when I mentioned it)

Here are a few piece of art that I found popular in Austin…PS–You can report graffiti here

 

 

 

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

