San Antonio Tea Party 4-15-09

Posted on April 15, 2009. Filed under: -- Uncategorized |


By Molly Malone

Hundreds of grassroot protests took place today across all 50 of our great states, uniting thousands of Democrats, Republicans, Libertarians, Independents, Liberals and Conservatives alike who actually have something in common: We American taxpayers have had enough!

According to FoxNews, there were over 2,300 Tax Day “Tea Party” events and protests going on nationwide, and I was able to check out two parties in Texas. I started my day at a small party in Austin, and then hit the road to San Antone.  I heard Glenn Beck say he’d be at the Alamo and I wanted to be sure not to  miss him or the event.

The weather was just beautiful, and people were out in the thousands, letting their voices be heard. Some people were walking around in Colonial costumes–I saw George Washington and Martha, as well as Davy Crockett– while others were decked out in American flag clothing or Texas gear. People here in Texas are unique with their passion for America and for their state, and they definitely show their pride in the way they dress!!!! It’s awesome.

The crowd turnout has been hard to pin a number on, but the clear point in what happened today is that I believe we have tapped into something real.  In my opionion, people were clearly engaged today in what I think is a genuine backlash to the amount of spending and stimulus that has been coming out of Washington D.C. Some folks disagree, calling today’s gatherings and protests “rightwing extremism.’ Fortuntately that was not the case, and there were people from all parties present…

Many Americans are at odds with the amount of spending that goes on in Washington. We understand that this debt is a direct threat to our lives and the future of our children and grandchildren.

People across America were clearly engaged today, and I expect them to stay united.

  • Blog Stats

    • 324,222 hits
  • I'm glad you found my blog. I hope you enjoy it!

  • Flickr Photos

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   Feb »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

